DUI under 21 in Oklahoma
John Cannon is an EXCELLENT attorney. He handled my case professionally and quickly. He is the first attorney I have ever met to take my situation and handle it without dragging it out occurring more expenses. I highly recommend him and will use him again if needed! - Ashley Gruenwald
DUI charges for Drivers under 21
It is important to know your rights and retain an Oklahoma DUI Defense Attorney if you or a loved one is charged with DUI under 21 in Oklahoma. In order to be charged with DUI under 21 in Oklahoma your blood alcohol content “BAC” must be .02% or higher when you are arrested. However, if you are under 21 and your BAC is .08 or higher you can be charged with DUI under 21 or misdemeanor DUI. This decision rests with the prosecutor or District Attorney over your case. DUI under 21 does not carry the potential for jail time, however, you may be required to complete up to 480 hours of community service, in addition to fines and terms of probation.
What Happens to My Driver’s License with DUI under 21?
In additional to criminal charges for DUI under 21, you also will face an administrative process with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety “DPS” regarding your privilege to drive. Courts have determined that driving is a privilege granted by the State, not a right; therefore, the State has a lower burden to take your driving privileges than to convict you. You or your attorney must contact DPS within 15 days of being arrested for DUI under 21 to request an administrative hearing to have a chance to retain your license. A DPS officer will determine at the hearing whether the Board of Tests rules were complied with by the officer that arrested you for DUI under 21. Our firm will request and conduct the hearing on your behalf, if you hire us within 15 days of your arrest for DUI under 21.
Your license will be automatically suspended on the thirtieth day following your DUI under 21 arrest, if you do not request an administrative hearing within 15 days of your arrest. This rule applies to every person and to every case, unless a blood test was taken instead of a breath test or refusal to take the State’s test. When a blood test is taken following an alleged DUI under 21, the 15 day clock runs once notice of testing over the legal limit is received.
Consequences of DUI under 21
In addition to the potential for losing your license and a criminal conviction, DUI under 21 may have a negative impact on your employment and education. Many employers take DUI under 21 or DUI charges very seriously, which may result in you losing your job, if you do not take the proper steps to protect your job. Additionally, high school, colleges, and universities frown upon students charged with DUI under 21 or DUI, which may subject you to disciplinary action or worse expulsion. It is important you discuss these issues or concerns with your chosen DUI defense attorney.
Protect Your Future
You need an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately, if you or a loved one is facing DUI under 21 charges. The negative implications of a conviction for DUI under 21 cannot be overstated and it is crucial you retain experienced counsel to help protect your license and your future.
Experienced DUI under 21 Defense Lawyer in Oklahoma
Contact CANNON & ASSOCIATES in Oklahoma City for your DUI or DUI under 21 defense. You have the right to the presumption of innocence. John Cannon is a Fierce Advocate for every client and will use his experience and respected reputation to do everything possible to reach the best possible outcome in your DUI or DUI under 21 case. A conviction for DUI or DUI under 21 may have long lasting effects and penalties. John has been recognized as a Top 40 under 40 in Criminal Defense by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Contact CANNON & ASSOCIATES today if you have been charged with DUI under 21, Aggravated DUI, DUI, DWI, or APC charges in Oklahoma. CANNON & ASSOCIATES has an outstanding record of reaching the best possible outcome for hundreds of clients accused of the wide variety of criminal charges in Oklahoma, including DUI under 21, evidenced by John receiving the highest possible AVVO rating – 10 (superb). Call our office at (405) 888-7369 for a free confidential consultation and case evaluation.