Punishment for DUI in Oklahoma

Client Review

John Cannon has helped me through the hardest time in my life. He helped me through my divorce and custody case. He truly cares about his clients and it made me so happy he always put my daughter first and wanted what was in her best interest as a child. He is very sharp and resourceful and he has been very attentive and responsive to my needs, John is very polite and professional and he always has a great attitude. John always took the time to go over everything and explain everything in depth. I’ve enjoyed working with John and his team and would recommend him to other clients.
– Lexi Coyle


Penalties for Oklahoma DUI Conviction

First time misdemeanor DUI in Oklahoma carries a minimum jail sentence of ten days in jail, if you are found guilty. In some cases you may be required to serve up to a year in jail on a first offense. Additionally, you may be required to pay a fine of up to $1,000 for your first offense as well. These penalties are in addition to the administrative pain of dealing with DPS to save your Driver’s License and other consequences of a DUI in Oklahoma. 

Anyone with a prior DUI conviction may face a felony DUI, which carries a minimum of one year in jail, not a maximum. Know your rights, know your options, seek counsel from a DUI lawyer in Oklahoma. Please find a chart of the current punishment ranges for DUI, DWI, and APC offenses below: 

Age BAC Charge Jail Time Criminal Penalties
21 years or older > .08% DUI 1st offense:

10 days to 1 year

2nd offense in 10 years:

1 to 5 years

2nd felony offense:

1 to 7 years

3rd offense (and subsequent offenses):
1 to 10 years

1st offense:

A misdemeanor charge Fine up to $1,000

2nd offense in 10 years:

A felony charge Fine up to $2,500

2nd felony offense:

A felony charge Fine up to $5,000

3rd offense (and subsequent offenses):
A felony charge
Fine up to $5,000

21 years or older between .05% and .08% DWI Up to 6 months $100 to $500
Under 21 years old Any amount of alcohol DUI 1st conviction:

Fines between $100-$500 or community service, or a treatment program, or any combination of the 3

2nd of subsequent conviction:
Fines between $100-$1,000 or community service, or a treatment program, or any combination of the 3

21 years or older >.08% APC Same as first offense DUI Same as first offense DUI

Contact an experienced DUI Defense Attorney in Oklahoma City today

When facing a DUI, DWI, or APC criminal charge in Oklahoma your future, finances, and freedom are on the line. Contact Cannon Law Firm for a free confidential consultation to discuss the above listed potential punishments and your options moving forward. 

Contact Cannon Law Firm in Oklahoma City for your defense. You have the right to the presumption of innocence. John Cannon is a Fierce Advocate for every client and will use his experience and respected reputation to do everything possible to reach the best possible outcome in your burglary case. John has been recognized as a Top 40 under 40 in Criminal Defense by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Additionally, he has an outstanding record of reaching the best possible outcome for hundreds of clients accused of the wide variety of criminal charges in Oklahoma, evidenced by receiving the highest possible AVVO rating – 10 (superb). Contact Cannon Law Firm today. 


Contact Attorney John Cannon

All initial consultations are free and confidential.